2006 Technical Nominees
2006 Creative Nominees
2006 Hall of Fame Award
2006 Les Paul Award

2006 Sponsors

Past Winners and Inductees
TEC Award Video
Photo Gallery

Voting Process
Sponsorship Opportunities
Program Book info [PDF]

Event information contact






2004 TEC Awards Hall of Fame Inductees George Lucas and Elliot Scheiner

George Lucas, celebrated around the world as producer/director of the Star Wars and Indiana Jones adventure films, and the force behind the creation of Industrial Light and Magic, might be less widely known for his singular impact on film sound. His revival of the symphonic film score, and improvements to theater sound with the development of THX have changed the way we hear movies. He has also championed new technologies behind film sound creation by financing SoundDroid, an advanced touch-screen digital audio workstation; building Skywalker Sound; popularizing LCRS Dolby Stereo and 6.1 Dolby Digital EX; and pioneering long-distance ADR sessions over T1 lines.


Multiple Grammy-winner Elliot Scheiner is an engineer/ producer whose musical sensibilities and attention to detail have produced some of best-loved recordings spanning the early seventies to the present day. Working with such artists as Steely Dan, Van Morrison, Jimmy Buffett, Aerosmith, Fleetwood Mac, Natalie Cole, and many more, Scheiner has continually embraced new and groundbreaking recording technologies, and helped keep the sound and recording industries moving progressively forward. His expertise in 5.1 surround sound mixing is widely respected, and his work to develop the first automotive 5.1-channel, DVD-Audio System for Panasonic Automotive Systems has resulted in the "ELS Surround" system for Acura's 2004 TL. Both Elliot Scheiner and George Lucas exemplify the spirit of technical innovation and creative excellence in professional audio recognized by the TEC Awards Hall of Fame. • READ MORE ABOUT ELLIOT SCHEINER

home | sitemap | contact | Les Paul Award

2006 David Hewitt

Past Winners:
2005 Arif Mardin
2004 George Lucas & Elliot Scheiner
2003 Eddie Kramer
2002 Geoff Emerick
2001 Roy Halee
2000 Sam Phillips
1999 Tom Dowd
1998 Colin Sanders
1997 Al Schmitt
1996 Willi Studer
1995 Phil Spector
1994 Frank Zappa
1993 Rudy Van Gelder
1992 Bob Moog, Bill Porter, Phil Ramone
1991 Ray Dolby, Bill Putnam, Bruce Swedien
1990 Deane Jensen, Quincy Jones, George Massenburg
1989 Wally Heider, George Martin, Rupert Neve
1988 Bob Liftin, Les Paul



Home | Site Map