2006 Technical Nominees
2006 Creative Nominees
2006 Hall of Fame Award
2006 Les Paul Award

2006 Sponsors

Past Winners and Inductees
TEC Award Video
Photo Gallery

Voting Process
Sponsorship Opportunities
Program Book info [PDF]

Event information contact

2001 Hall of Fame Inductee
Roy Halee

Roy Halee began his career as a staff engineer at Columbia Records in New York, just in time to work on a few albums with the recently signed Bob Dylan, including the first long-format radio single, "Like a Rolling Stone." After outside jobs with the Lovin’ Spoonful, Dave Clark Five and the Yardbirds, Halee began his historic partnership with Simon & Garfunkel.

Halee quickly discovered that the magic of Simon & Garfunkel harmonies could only be achieved by recording both voices on the same microphone at the same time. That technique served him well, as the song "Mrs. Robinson," from the 1968 album The Graduate, garnered Halee a Grammy® Award.

On Bookends, the Moog synthesizer made its first pop music appearance. Three more Grammy Awards followed in 1970 for his work on the album and song, Bridge Over Troubled Water.

During the Simon & Garfunkel years, Halee kept busy producing and/or engineering for the classic Bloomfield-Kooper-Stills "Super Session," Blood, Sweat & Tears, the Byrds, Moby Grape and Laura Nyro, among others. After the breakup of Simon & Garfunkel in 1970 came work on two solo albums for Art Garfunkel, as well as engineering, remixing and production responsibilities for the recorded output of Paul Simon’s solo career. Those albums, including the groundbreaking Graceland and The Rhythm of the Saints, found Halee and Simon recording around the world in such places as Jamaica, Brazil and South Africa. During the same years, Halee found time to work with other artists as diverse as Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Journey, Willie Nelson, Boz Scaggs, Rufus and Chaka Khan, Edie Brickell and Neil Diamond.

Past Hall of Fame Winners

home | sitemap | contact

2006 David Hewitt

Past Winners:
2005 Arif Mardin
2004 George Lucas & Elliot Scheiner
2003 Eddie Kramer
2002 Geoff Emerick
2001 Roy Halee
2000 Sam Phillips
1999 Tom Dowd
1998 Colin Sanders
1997 Al Schmitt
1996 Willi Studer
1995 Phil Spector
1994 Frank Zappa
1993 Rudy Van Gelder
1992 Bob Moog, Bill Porter, Phil Ramone
1991 Ray Dolby, Bill Putnam, Bruce Swedien
1990 Deane Jensen, Quincy Jones, George Massenburg
1989 Wally Heider, George Martin, Rupert Neve
1988 Bob Liftin, Les Paul


Home | Site Map