2009 Winners
2009 Technical Nominees
2009 Creative Nominees
2009 Sponsors

Past Winners and Inductees
TEC Awards Photo Gallery

Voting Process
Sponsorship Information
Program Book Rates
& Specifications (PDF)

Program Sponsor
Reservation Form

Order Tickets (PDF)
Order Tickets (online)

Event information contact

2008 TEC Awards Hall of Fame Inductee T Bone Burnett

The TEC Awards Hall of Fame was created in 1988 to recognize those individuals, living or deceased, whose careers have best exemplified the spirit of creative and technical excellence in professional audio.

Joseph Henry ‘T Bone’ Burnett was raised in Texas where he developed a love of a wide range of American music.  He first came to prominence in the early 1970s, playing guitar and piano on Bob Dylan’s fabled Rolling Thunder Revue.  In the 1980s and 1990s Burnett pursued parallel careers as a performer and producer, releasing several solo albums as well as helming dozens of records, including those by Elvis Costello, Roy Orbison, The Wallflowers, Counting Crows, Los Lobos and Gillian Welch. 

His first major foray into film work was for the Coen Brothers’ The Big Lebowski, serving as musical archivist, which led to his groundbreaking work on the soundtrack to the Coens’ O Brother, Where Art Thou?,  for which he earned multiple Grammy Awards, including “Album of the Year” and “Producer of the Year.”  In recent years, Burnett has devoted time to his own albums–including the critically acclaimed The True False Identity in 2005 and this year’s Tooth of Crime–as well as to important film and music productions. 

He was nominated for an Academy Award, along with Elvis Costello, for writing “Scarlet Tide” for the Oscar-winning Cold Mountain and won another Grammy for his work as Executive Music Producer on the soundtrack to the Johnny Cash biopic, Walk The Line.  The Robert Plant and Alison Krauss collaboration, Raising Sand, is high on a list of Burnett’s recent production credits that also includes John Mellencamp’s Life, Death, Love and Freedom, which marks the debut of the high-resolution ΧΟΔΕ Audio standard, developed by T Bone and his team at Code Resonance.  Other recent productions include Wonderful World, a tribute to the music of Louis Armstrong, by Tony Bennett and k.d. Lang, and new albums from B.B. King and Robert Randolph.

2008 T Bone Burnett

Past Winners:
2007 Ed Greene
2006 David Hewitt
2005 Arif Mardin
4 George Lucas & Elliot Scheiner
2003 Eddie Kramer
2002 Geoff Emerick
1 Roy Halee
Sam Phillips
1999 Tom Dowd
1998 Colin Sanders
1997 Al Schmitt
1996 Willi Studer
1995 Phil Spector
1994 Frank Zappa
1993 Rudy Van Gelder
1992 Bob Moog, Bill Porter, Phil Ramone
1991 Ray Dolby, Bill Putnam, Bruce Swedien
1990 Deane Jensen, Quincy Jones, George Massenburg
1989 Wally Heider, George Martin, Rupert Neve
1988 Bo
b Liftin, Les Paul



Home | Site Map