News Archive


Media Contact:
Jane Byer

News from the TEC Foundation

PRESS RELEASE—November 14, 2013


Ten Innovations to be Inducted at 2014 NAMM Show Ceremonys

November 14 , 2013, Carlsbad, CA—The NAMM Foundation, presenters of the TEC Awards, has announced 10 inventions and products for induction to the 9th TECnology Hall of Fame. The ceremony will be held on Saturday, January 25, at the 2014 NAMM Show in Anaheim, California, and will be hosted by veteran pro audio journalist and audio historian George Petersen.

Established in 2004, the TECnology Hall of Fame recognizes the innovations and companies that have made significant contributions to the advancement of audio technology. Inductees are chosen by a panel of 50 recognized audio experts, including authors, educators, product designers, production pros and others. To be considered for induction, products or innovations must be at least 10 years old.

"The inductees for the 2014 TECnology Hall of Fame cover a wide range of breakthrough inventions that go back a century to the early days of audio reproduction," says TECnology Hall of Fame chairman George Petersen. "Unfortunately, names of innovators such as Harold Arnold — a Western Electric researcher whose significant improvements in tube technology led to developing the first practical audio amplifier in 1915 — are almost unknown to within the industry he helped create." Several of this year's inductees mark major milestones in 2014, including the 50-year anniversary of 1964's Studer J-37 4-track, which rose to fame for its role in recording The Beatles Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, and the Klark Teknik DN360 graphic equalizer — still in production and in use worldwide some 30 years after its introduction.

The 2014 TECnology Hall of Fame inductees include:

1915 First practical audio amplifier - Western Electric
1930 Bass-reflex loudspeaker patent - Bell Labs
1959 Echoplex tape delay effect
1963 Mellotron tape-loop keyboard instrument
1964 Studer J-37 4-track recorder
1984 Klark Teknik DN360 graphic equalizer
1986 Yamaha SPX90 reverb
1988 Akai MPC60 sequencer/drum machine
1991 Genelec 1031A powered studio monitor
1998 Royer Labs R-121 ribbon microphone

Jane Byer
29th Annual TEC Awards